...unified by their common energy and discipline, and a singular understanding of Shostakovich’s music...
(Lindis Taylor, "Middle-C")

Aroha Quartet with Rachel Vernon (clarinet) for Rotorua Music Federation

In this programme we feature the clear, pure sound of the clarinet. Rachel Vernon, NZSO Principal Bass Clarinet, joins us for two of the best-loved works in the chamber music repertoire: the gorgeous clarinet quintets by Mozart and Brahms. The middle work in this programme is a beautiful arrangement for clarinet and string quartet of Astor Piazzolla's 'Oblivion'. Tickets $35 for adults; $15 for students 18-25 years of age; and free for school age children.

Monday, August 16 2021, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Aroha String Quartet

Rachel Vernon - clarinet

Mozart: Clarinet Quintet in A major K581
Piazzolla: Oblivion for Clarinet & String Quartet
Brahms: Clarinet Quintet in B minor Op 115