...One of the nation’s musical treasures....
(Louis Pierard, The Hook review website)

Aroha Quartet with Diedre Irons play 'Unbound' in St Matthew-in-the-City, Auckland

Our programme begins with Haydn's String Quartet in C Op 33 No 3. Nicknamed 'The Bird', this is a graceful and light-hearted work. It contrasts well with 'Unbound', an expressive, heartfelt work for string quartet written in 2011 by New Zealand composer Brigid Bisley. For the finale, we are delighted to be joined by Diedre Irons, one of New Zealand's finest pianists, for the sublime Piano Quintet in F minor by Brahms. Combining lyrical beauty and rhythmic muscularity, this is one of the best-loved chamber music works of all time. Tickets ($35 Adults, $25 Concessions, $70 Families - 2 Children + 2 Adults, $10 Children under 18 yrs) from Eventfinda (booking fees may apply).

Sunday, November 24 2019, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Aroha String Quartet

Diedre Irons - piano

Haydn: String Quartet in C Op 33 No 3 'The Bird'
Bisley: Unbound
Brahms: Piano Quintet in F minor Op 34