...a fantastic performance of a great work...
(Andrew Buchanan-Smart, Waikato Times)

Aroha Quartet in 'Flight' for Music Whakatane

Our Flight programme takes wing with one of Haydn's most popular works, his 'Lark' Quartet in D Op 64 No 5. The second piece is String Quartet No 4 by Polish composer Grazyna Bacewicz. This passionate music won her first prize at an international competition for string quartets in 1951. We mark the 50th anniversary of the death of one of the Twentieth Century's key musical figures, Igor Stravinsky, with his miniature Concertino for String Quartet, written in his neo-classical style. We finish with Tchaikovsky's String Quartet No 1 in D Op 11, a work full of soaring melodies and heartfelt emotion, famous for its Andante cantabile slow movement. Tickets are available at the door for $30/person, or $25/person for groups of 6+ people.

Sunday, June 13 2021, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Aroha String Quartet
Haydn: String Quartet in D major Op. 64 No 5 "Lark"
Bacewicz: String Quartet No 4
Stravinsky: Concertino for String Quartet
Tchaikovsky: String Quartet No 1 in D Op 11